In Limbo – Testing, Testing, Testing

I am adapting well to living with advanced cancer. I remain active but my activities are restricted by the tumour in my spine. To most, unless I told you, it is not apparent that I am living with a chronic disease. I really miss being able to get out and run, the freedom of movement. I miss the connection with friends, the ability to just join in for a run and sunrises and passing through nature and the myriad of paths and trails available to us throughout Brisbane and South-East Queensland. I never took my health and fitness for granted, and I still get out in nature and with others regularly but I am to a degree limited and for now enjoy life at a bit of a slower pace.

I continue to be curious, adventurous and seeking fun but the sobering reality is that I will continue to require regular treatment and monitoring for the rest of my life. For now the hormone treatment (a daily table and a monthly injection) has slowed the growth and or spread of my cancer. As this treatment continues to work I live a relatively normal life. I am aware that the spread to somewhere other than my bones is likely.

This gown is actually quite on trend, took a shot just prior to my MRI Test at Queensland

Managing the Side Effects

This is a bit of a pain! My previous hormone treatment Tamoxifen had some minor side effects which really did affect me. My mood was affected I just wasn’t myself and I had a tendency to get injured more. After consulting my Oncologist she agreed dropping it would be okay, my risk was low. Five years later I am back on a different hormone therapy an Aromastase Inhibiter (daily tablet) and monthly implant. This time the most prevalent side effect is joint pain and stiffness. If I get up and get moving I’m okay but as soon as I sit for a while the stiffness returns. Now that I know this is a symptom of my treatment well I’m just going to have to run with it. When I run I do experience pins and needles and numbness in the feet, a result of the nerve damage caused by the tumour on my spine. However tests have revealed that my bone density is amazing, so there is no risk of fracturing the spine where the tumour has compromised the bones.

At this time I am slowly getting back to something that resembles running. I will for the rest of my life be regularly tested – blood tests, various scans, monthly GP appointment and injection and regular appointments with the oncologist. I have been able to reduce my medication. The upside, I want need regular mammograms because the PET scan tests the whole body for Cancer. I always seek the silver linings.

Further Reading

Australian Government: Cancer Australia

Australian Institue of Health and Welfare: Cancer in Australia 2021

Published by ultrarunnerchick

Recreational Running Coach, Australian Representative at the IAU 100km World Championships and 24 hour World Championships in Turin, Italy. Ultra runner and Athletics Australia Accredited Recreational Running Coach, President - River City Runners

Leave a comment